New Goals 2017-2018

At some point my 6 month financial goals grew out to a year goal and it coincided with the financial year which I have just run with. Last year my financial goal was to aim for $100K left on our mortgage. My loose maths figured we’d reach about $102K, a figure my husband scoffed at … But which I am proud to announce we beat by $12K. Yes, we managed an extra $1,000 per month on average getting us to a comfortably below goal $90K left on our mortgage. So where to aim for the next 12 months? 

Well I would love to finish paying the mortgage off…. $90,000 in a year… But its an incredibly lofty goal that will require us finding an additional $16,000 this year. 

We have a few things on our side,

  1. I now have a small job delivering catalogues in our neighborhood. That should potentially bring in $4,000.
  2. Our daily mortgage interest has halved, and will keep going down. In July 2016 we were paying $20/day in interest, we are now paying $10/day and it’s only going to keep going down!
  3. I’m now savvier with our shopping and purchasing discounted gift cards
  4. We’ve continued decluttering for profit
  5. We’ve discovered selling scrap metal is good for the environment and our hip pocket.
  6. I’m determined :p 

I’m aiming to update on our progress each month and reevaluate what has worked and hasn’t worked for us 🙂 

If you have any tips I’d love to hear them! 

Leave a Reply

