Frugal Fortunes & Fumbles: FFF#3

fortunefumble

Each week I like to look back at the week that was and reflect on whether or not I am still undertaking steps to get me to my financial goals. I am not superhuman and as such I have my fumbles as well as my fortunes and I think it’s important to learn from my mistakes as well as my successes.

 

Fortunes

  • This month is the first time I’ve actually set myself a set budget for groceries. My target is $200 for the month (predominately for myself and little Mister 1 as DH works away from home). I reached the $50 budget (and went over by just .14c) on Friday with no need to return to the shops for the remainder of the week just plodding on course for my monthly budget.
  • I spent $16 of that grocery budget on avocados. Seems expensive… except that was for 10kg of avocados. That’s 85 (small) avocados. And for anyone who enjoys number crunching as much as I do, that’s .19c per avocado. They are currently selling at $2-$2.50 per (larger) avocado at the moment, so assuming they all get eaten even a $1 each they have saved me $69. Avocados can be frozen with only minimal damage to the texture so I’ll be doing this with a fair amount of them once they ripen.
  • My $50 on groceries this week also included 4L of nearing expiry date milk (each in a 1L portion). I aim to keep my milk under .90c/L and these were .83-.84c/L. It’s only a saving of .25c in total but it all helps. 2L of the milk will be used as normal from the fridge, whilst the other 2L has gone to the freezer to extend it’s shelf life just long enough for it to be needed.
  • Cheap (well free 😉 ) entertainment for little Mister – during the process of decluttering I came across some old stickers (including the apple stickers that always come with iProducts) He rather enjoyed putting them onto and taking them off the glass sliding door over and over again. Fortunately the adhesive wasn’t too sticky and cleaned off easily with Norwex and water.

 

Fumbles

  • I cannot actually think of any fumbles this week. It was a great frugal week!

 

How Was Your Week?
Did you have any Fortunes or Fumbles?

2 thoughts on “Frugal Fortunes & Fumbles: FFF#3

Leave a Reply

